September 9, 2015 – Capturing the moment…

I asked Rachel a couple of weeks ago when we scheduled the C-Section for September 30th in San Francisco – to remind me to take a picture of the sunrise on the way down to the hospital! (It’s not like she will have anything else to worry about during the drive!). 😀

Sunrise

I think it would be a cool keepsake for the boys to have a picture of the sunrise on the day they were born. I have always been a morning person and I know that there is a FINITE number of Sunrises and Sunsets that I will experience in my lifetime. I like to take a moment and cherish each and everyone!

Anyway, when Rachel first started having contractions last Wednesday I thought it would be a good idea to start capturing the sunrise every morning (see cover photo) until the Scheduled C-Section on September 30th. There’s no telling when these boys will decide that they are ready to see the sunrise for themselves. 🙂

Rachel was having contractions when I got home from work last night. They weren’t painful, they were just consistent. She called Kaiser around 8pm and told them she was having 6+ contractions per hour since 6pm. They told her to try to rest and not do anything strenuous! Um, right – she has been on that plan for the last 2 months! 🙂 Anyway, around 9pm she assured me that everything was all right, so I went to bed (I am an early riser, remember?) I told her to let me know if she needs me – for ANY REASON! At around 1:30am I woke up and heard some sounds coming from downstairs. It sounded like Rachel was in pain, so I asked her if she was ok. Rachel is pretty low maintenance and doesn’t complain a lot, so of course she replied “No, I’m all right”. Being persistent, I got her to come clean and she said that she had been having regular contractions since I went to bed. Off we went for another visit to Kaiser L&D in Santa Rosa.

They took Rachel’s BP & had her submit a urine sample. They hooked her up to the baby monitors again – Same routine as last week. They told us that if the contractions didn’t start to dissipate and go away, they would need to consider sending her to Kaiser San Francisco. Fortunately they started to lessen around 4am. The doctor said that just by looking at her urine sample – she looked dehydrated. Rachel has been very religious about drinking A LOT of water. She probably drinks between 3,500 – 4,000ml of water a day (4 to 5 camelbak bottles full of H20). Yesterday was 100+ degrees, so I am sure that contributed to her dehydrated state.

The doctor asked if Rachel was in pain or having any trouble sleeping – “YES” to both! She asked if Rachel had tried Benadryl (nope, it didn’t work) or Ambien. Rachel tried taking Unisom, but I don’t think that really worked either. Anyway, she prescribed some Ambien to help her sleep and some Norco for pain relief. Hopefully these will help lessen her discomfort and allow her to get some rest…

The doctor’s final words to Rachel was to try and get some rest & ONLY 3 MORE WEEKS!!!

(Kaiser Labor & Delivery)

KaiserL&D

For now, I will continue to take a sunrise picture every day and capture the moment!!! 😀

Ke Akua Ho’omaika’i – God Bless…

men-make-triplets

6 thoughts on “September 9, 2015 – Capturing the moment…

  1. rachelnorcal says:

    To be fair, when you texted “Are you ok?” my reply was “Not really.” 😛
    Thank you for encouraging me to go. Worth it for the Ambien alone. Best sleep I’ve had in many weeks. Thank you for the sunrise pics, too! xoxoxo

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

