September 16, 2016 – A Note to My Sons II, Happy 1st Birthday!!!

To my sons – Kaleo, Makani & Keoni,

I have vivid memories of the day you were born. How could I ever forget? It was a beautiful day.

It would turn out to be – The Best Day of My Life!

birthdaysunrise09162015

September 16, 2015, Kaiser Hospital Walnut Creek CA – your birthday sunrise!

September 16th, 2015:

The day started out just like any other. Except – this day was special, it was not just any other day. Today was THE day! The day that we would get to hold you and hear you cry for the first time. To look into your beautiful eyes and to touch your little hands!

I woke up early (around 5 AM). Your mom was already awake, she had been up for most of the night while the nurses monitored each of your vitals. The night before, your mom had agreed to try to deliver the three of you naturally – but after a long, rough night she wasn’t so sure anymore. She was emotional, tired and distraught. She was having second thoughts:

  • Would she have the energy, strength, stamina to go through labor & delivery after all that she had been through? Especially after the effects of having pre-eclampsia?
  • Would something happen during your delivery that would force them to do an emergency C-Section anyway?
  • After all that she had been through, we wondered if this would be the safest method possible?

We talked about positive vs. negative aspects of each of the two different options and we came to the conclusion that no matter how valiant and heroic “delivering triplets naturally” sounded – the risks far exceeded the benefits. We decided together that a C-Section would be the safest possible procedure to maximize you & your mom’s health. The doctors agreed with our decision and we were scheduled for surgery later that morning!

I was worried – I was worried that there would be complications & that something would go wrong. I was worried that I would fail you as a father.

I didn’t know – I didn’t know how to be a father! I didn’t know what I was in for. I didn’t know how much you would mean to me.

Those were my biggest fears…

My heart swelled with emotion and joy when I first saw each of you boys for the first time. To me, the three of you were perfect! That moment brought tears to my eyes – 1 by 1, they cleaned you up and checked your vitals. I felt so helpless. There was nothing I could do to protect you. This was now out of my control. I turned to my faith in God and prayed that he would look after you.  For after all you are God’s children first and foremost!

Those were some pretty tough times in the Hospital/NICU. The doctors and nurses were so kind, they worked tirelessly hour after hour with love and compassion. You fought like warriors to survive! The other babies were so small and fragile compared to my big strong boys. I almost felt like you didn’t belong there. I couldn’t help but wonder where the other babies’ parents were. Right then – I made a promise to always be there for you, no matter what!

I have to admit, before you were born I had no clue what ‘True Love’ was or meant – Now I know…

1yearbirthdaya

-Baby Kaleo

My sweet, sweet “Daddy’s Boy” – my first born! How did I ever get so lucky to have my little PEMU fall in love with me? I love you so much and you put the biggest smile on my face every day when I come home from a long day at work! I love to sit and cuddle with you. I have given you more than your fair share of nicknames over this past year – PEMU, Princess, Little Guy, Baby Kaleo & I may still call you the runt on occasion, but I see BIG, BIG things in your future! You are already a kind, caring, loving baby. Please, please, please – pass those traits on to your brothers and always care for them and your mom!


-Makani Boy

My little blue eyed boy! You are so handsome, smart and articulate. I love watching you play and hearing you try to form words/sentences. You have always been our little “Makani in the Middle”. Your future is as bright as your smile! You are meticulous in your thought process and I can already tell that you are going to be a problem solver. I know you will be quite the ladies’ man – you can already melt all of the girls’ hearts with just a flash of your baby blue eyes! Yes, yes, yes!!!


-Keoni ‘Big Boy’

My little Big Boy! You may be the youngest, but you have excelled in every way imaginable. You are clearly the strongest and most agile of your brothers. I think you will be the protector of our family. You have such an infectious smile and laugh. What a sweet, kind and loving heart you have. You show so much respect and concern for your mom and brothers. I think you will use those gifts to your advantage and make this world a better place as a result. I also expect Big, BIG things from you, I don’t expect anything less!!!


Your mom and I did everything within our power, to give you boys a loving, healthy start in life. To our delight, that is exactly what happened! You thrived. You grew and grew – beyond our wildest dreams. We Love the three of you boys so much, probably more than you will ever know. I have learned so much in just this past year. You have taught me how to be a better father. I feel grateful, fortunate and so honored to be blessed by your presence in my life.

I remember praying that I could be somebody that you looked up to. Now – it is you that I look up to!!!

Mahalo ke Akua! (Thank you God!)

With all my Love – Happy First Birthday Kaleo, Makani & Keoni!

Your Dad

 

Leave a Reply

